Can’t get no results satisfaction

😦 If I am given more time in the reading test, I will answer all of the questions with satisfied results.

This is like the bored/boring distinction, right?

Let’s say Bill is talking to Mary about space travel, but Mary is not interested in space travel. In this case Mary feels bored (the effect), but Bill is boring (the cause). (flag-of-indonesiaIn Indonesian there is an easy translation, where the suffix ‘kan’ behaves a bit like ‘ing’: boring > membosankan).

If we return to the original problem..

🙂 If I am given more time in the reading test, I will answer all of the questions with satisfying results.

‘Satisfying’ is the cause. The effect – satisfied – is something that you might feel when your results are satisfying.

You can also use a related word with a slightly different meaning:

🙂 If I am given more time in the reading test, I will answer all of the questions with satisfactory results.

@eapguru

EAPguru would love to hear your comments!