Paying (for) basic needs

😦 In Australia I will need a lot of money to pay my basic needs.

flag-of-indonesia This is obviously a translation problem.

  • If I pay the shopkeeper, I give money to the shopkeeper.
  • If I pay for the bananas, I give money to the shopkeeper.
  • If I pay the shopkeeper for the bananas, I give money to the shopkeeper.
  • If I pay the bananas, I give money to the bananas!

Indonesian has different word forms to communicate different meanings – bayar, bayar kepada, bayari, and bayarkan. English, on the other hand, only has ‘pay’ and ‘pay for’:

  1. Pay the man. (bayar kepada)
  2. Pay for the bananas. (bayar)
  3. Pay for my coffee, would you? (bayari)
  4. When you’re in town could you pay my electricity bill for me? Here’s the money. (bayarkan)

In the first picture (below), a man is paying a woman for some vegetables:

pay_for

In the next illustration, a man is paying some fruit and vegetables. He’s giving money to the fruit and vegetables:

pay

 

@eapguru

EAPguru would love to hear your comments!

