Using shoes and clothes

quark_shoes_114

😦 I always use special shoes when I’m working in the laboratory.

Candidate: Ya ya ya Mr IELTS Examiner. I should say wear special shoes!  But the context is perfectly clear and you understand what I mean, right? I mean, you can easily picture the shoes I’m talking about, right?

Examiner: Yes, I understand. But you’re using weak verb/noun collocation, and so I have to give you a low score for vocabulary. Next time you want to translate ‘pake baju’, or ‘pake sepatu’, please ‘pake’ wear. OK?

Candidate: OK!

2 comments

  1. imranedu

    Aha! I saw a sign at I/A/L/F saying “Use your head, wear a helmet.”
    I think it is playing with word ‘use’, which commonly misused by us Indonesians 😕

    Like

EAPguru would love to hear your comments!

